The Book of M by Peng Shepherd— A Book Review

RRKReads
2 min readDec 4, 2020

This book, especially the ending, blew my mind.

There are a few things why this book will be special to me.

1. India. My country and its culture is mentioned so liberally throughout the book that I would have loved it even if nothing else had been good about this book. But, fret not. This book has an amazing story, slow though it is.

2. Story and the Ending. I loved the story and I probably will need to read this book again just to better understand the ending and the nuances of this story as a whole.

I can’t say any of the characters appealed to me very much. They were neither likable nor unlikeable. This is a book that you might read if you want to be intrigued or if you are curious about the deeper questions of our existence. But if you want a character-driven story then this might not be the one for you.

It begins off fast, gets quite slow in the middle, and ends with a bang. But, throughout the book, I kept wanting to know what happened next and that’s an excellent indicator.

I am a person who reads the end of the story just to see if it’s a tragedy that I must discard or not. So, now you know that I don’t care a bit about spoilers. But, this was one book that I didn’t reach for the last pages right at the beginning. I was more interested in the journey than the end, for once!

Also, it took me a while to figure out why this book was named The book of M, quite silly of me really 😀.

Ideally, this book is a 4.5 ⭐s read for me. I did have problems with the pacing and characterization, but because this book is a strong contender for books that I might re-read (if you know me at all, I am a staunch no-re-read fan) I am giving this book 5 stars. I might revisit this rating once/if I re-read.

RRKReads Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

--

--